An Apology and an Announcement

An Apology and an Announcement

So I’ve been absent the past 6 weeks or so and I’d like to apologize for that. Some of you may know and some of you may have guessed that my husband and I are expecting . . . again. We were actually trying not to try (which just goes to show you why ‘try’ is a fail word) but we’re excited and happy all the same. I’m 10 weeks 3 days and I know it’s a trifle early to be announcing but we’ve seen the healthy baby and the strong heartbeat and I know some of you were wondering where I disappeared to so we decided to go ahead and put it out there. Hopefully we haven’t incurred the wrath of the Jinx.

Requisite indecipherable sono pic, labeled, so you can pretend you actually see a baby in there!

Requisite indecipherable sono pic, labeled, so you can pretend you actually see a baby in there!

The reason I was on the fence about having another baby is because, as some of you know, all of my pregnancies are ridiculously high risk. Gestation is simply not one of my strengths. I usually end up on restricted activity, if not outright bed rest, which may not seem so bad, until you actually have to do it. Throw in an almost three-year-old and a 15-month-old and it’s even more fun!

Not to mention having to get a cerclage (I won’t gross you out bore you with the particulars) and those super awesome progesterone shots that require intramuscular injections with a 1½ inch needle (yes, 1½ inches) and yes, it must go in the entire length.  It’s especially awesome when a nerve gets hit.  That doesn’t hurt at all!

Being on Bed Rest

Needless to say, I have to jump through a lot of rather painful hoops to have a healthy, full-term baby, if I’m lucky. So I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to go through all of that again, not to mention putting another baby at risk. But life happens, so you roll with it. And my husband and I love babies and being parents so we’re happy. But seriously, this is our last biological kid. If we want any more, we’re adopting.

Anyway, because of all the high riskiness we realized we really needed to hire a nanny this time around and STAT! This was so much more involved than I thought it was going to be: reviewing applications, setting up interviews, interviewing candidates, drawing up a contract. Ugh. It made my brain hurt, but was worth it, because we found someone AH-MAZING and we already love her to pieces.

This isn't me.  I'm not that big, yet.  Give me a few weeks . . .

This isn’t me. I’m not that big, yet. Give me a few weeks . . .

All of that combined with my extreme exhaustion and my need to Nest early (since I can’t do it at the appropriate time as I’ll be bedridden) and my desire to spend as much time with my kids before the aforementioned bed rest apocalypse is the reason I haven’t been around. Then I was hit with the nausea about a week and a half ago, and the intractable migraines four days ago, not to mention somehow still being ravenously hungry all the time, combined with the wicked bad exhaustion and yeah, not really available for blogging, and reading, and commenting. War may be Hell, but pregnancy isn’t far behind.

Anyway, I really miss all of you out in the blogosphere and once the first trimester passes and the nanny starts working I should actually be able to start up again. I so look forward to seeing what you’ve all been up to and I hope you’ve all been enjoying the Spring that finally came and I’ll be in touch soon.

Hugs and Love!

-Jessica

I included a random pic of a mamma tapir and baby because, well, I like tapirs.  They're both weird and cute!

I included a random pic of a mamma tapir and baby because, well, I like tapirs. They’re both weird and cute!

ps. If it’s another girl (and it will be, because that’s what I seem to have) we’re actually thinking of asking people for name suggestions and allowing everyone to vote on their favorite combo, so, you might get a chance to help name our kid. So start thinking of your weirdest names!

15 thoughts on “An Apology and an Announcement

  1. Yay!!! I get to publicly congratulate you! Mazel Tov! Extremely excited for you. I am hoping that by some miracle, you won’t have to go thru all of what you described. And so funny about the name thing cuz I have been writing a post on a couple who did hold a vote online to name their baby! Will you be shocked if it’s a boy? Will you find out? Do your other kids know? Sorry…. I need to change my name to Little Miss Nosy!
    Hugs,
    Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I really appreciate your well wishes and I will probably poke you for advice from time to time seeing as you managed to juggle six kids AND keep your sense of humor. Amazing! I’ve heard about all the craziness in your part of the country so I hope everything is ok where you are. No fires near your home, right? No floods? Anyone building an ark and gathering animals?

      Unfortunately, this pregnancy will be much like my others. The doctor has already informed me that after my next sono in about a week we’ll be scheduling the cerclage. If you sew, think pursestring stitch. Your welcome. 😉 And we’ve already got our prescription for the progesterone shots, but, as difficult as some of this all is, it’s totally worth it. I tell myself that 50 years, 100 years ago I wouldn’t have been able to have a single baby make it, so I’m lucky. Plus, this is great stuff to hold over their heads when they get snarky during their teen years!

      Will we be shocked if it’s a boy: no. We’ve accepted that it’s never going to happen. And no, this isn’t some trick I’m trying to play on the universe by telling myself and everyone that I’ve accepted it will be all girls in the secret hope that if I say that it will turn out to be a boy. I did that last pregnancy. It was still a girl. 🙂 And yes, we’ll find out, ’cause as my husband has pointed out: you’re just as surprised in the sono room as you are in the delivery room. That’s why I love him.

      I heard about that couple! What did they name their kid again? Wasn’t it something weird? Anyway, we’re going to narrow it down to the ones we like best, say top 5, and then put it up for a vote. So keep that in mind. Feel free to throw Stephanie in the mix.

      And you are so not nosy. Never. Your interest is awesome as is your humor and your writing!

      🙂

      Like

    • Maggie! Thank you so much! I miss your reading your thoughtful posts and of course your wonderful mineral pics that always inspire me to learn more about them so I can more readily appreciate what you’re sharing with us. I will be haunting your blog soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. Congratulations Jessica and Andrew!!!! Am praying for an easier pregnancy for you–but it doesn’t sound like it so far!! Our thoughts are with you all—hugs to everyone!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the hugs! No, this part of the pregnancy isn’t so great, but that just tells me that the baby is doing well. It would be nice if this trimester were a little easier since I have the 2-year-old and the 15-month-old, but oh well. This won’t be what I remember down the road. What I’ll remember is the panic attacks I have every time I think about the fact that I’m going to have 3 children 3 and under and no daycare. Ok, deep breaths . . .

      🙂

      Like

  3. Oh!!!!!! I am so excited for you, and happy and relieved that all has been (so much better than) well during your long silence.

    I had to go run over to another to another tab to look up cerclage. I thought I had never heard of it, but it turns out that I know a few women who used that procedure to keep their babies full term. I wonder if you want to take advantage of any of your Mothers Helpers. 🙂

    When I was bedridden during my pregnancies, I was comforted by the thought that I suffered before my kids did, at least I did before they were born 😉

    3 kids under 3? Yeah, Little MM would be the authority for that challenge. All I can say is, stay in the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really should engineer myself some help. Something with six arms and no sense of smell for diaper changes. Or I could just try to bribe Little MM to come live with me until they’re all ready for college. Maybe she’d be swayed by an offer of a song, a dance, and an occasionally very poorly cooked home meal? Maybe?

      Thanks for the congrats! I will stay in as many moments as I can, especially the poop-free ones.

      😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations, Jessica! I’m looking forward to finding out about your baby and seeing future blog posts.
    I would love to help name your baby, so please let me know when you are looking for suggestions.
    In the mean time, I would like to nominate your blog for “The Very Inspiring Blog Award.” Here is a link explaining this award: http://thestoryfairyslibrary.wordpress.com/2014/06/24/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    I’m thinking of you and wishing you and all your kids (including the one inside you) the best. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lily!

      How’s your writing going?

      Thanks for nominating me, I will check that out! That’s so thoughtful of you.

      I will most likely be making a formal request for name suggestions very soon. Today the tech said she couldn’t be 100% sure about the gender but I do think we’ll be needing some help to name the baby. We like unusual names but we’ll take any name suggestions. This baby will have a hyphenated first name and a middle name like her/his sisters so you can submit an entire name or just one.

      Thanks for thinking of me and hopefully I’ll have official confirmation of gender in a couple of weeks.

      🙂

      Like

    • Thanks for the congrats! Unfortunately, all my pregnancies are high risk, it’s just the way my body is, but my doctors are great and we’re hopeful we’ll reach 39 weeks this time. The more first cousins once removed, the merrier, I say. 🙂

      Like

I Love Your Feedback!

