Analogy of Opposites

Analogy of Opposites

I’m posting more of my pictures that I took when I was still doing research.  When I colorized the photos I was referencing some of Andy Warhol’s works such as his Marilyn Prints.  I called this series of colorized photos ‘Pop Current’ because it is the electrical current running through the buffer that creates the varied shapes.  I’m sure I don’t need to say that I’m not a professional photographer, nor have I had any training.  Just an interest in trying to capture the unusual beauty of everyday science.  For those of you who are interested I used a Canon PowerShot SD750 (usually on macro) to take the pictures and Gimp to edit them.  Most shots were created with an acrylic gel box, sodium borate buffer, current ranging from 100 to 120 volts, 1.5% to 2.5% agarose gels, RNA samples, and LED lights.

9 thoughts on “Analogy of Opposites

    • Thank you! I included the last sentence because I think you’re supposed to include the materials you use when you create art, or something. I don’t know. Maybe somebody out there might be interested or it might inspire another biochemist to start looking at the science they do differently.

      Anyway, thanks for the support!

      🙂

      Like

    • Lol! Thanks. Yes, today’s post was rather brightly hued. And thanks for saying my posts are a great read, I really appreciate it!

      I love your gravatar/avatar (one of those is right, right?). Actually quite jealous as it is both colorful and clever.

      🙂

      Like

      • Well don’t assume you’re the only one armed with GIMP :P. But yes, I found more time to create, which means I feel better, so thanks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wait a sec. You made that avatar yourself, using Gimp? I thought it was an app or photo effect-thingy. Wow. That’s really cool! Now, I’m even more jealous.

        Glad you’re feeling better!

        🙂

        Like

    • Thank your for nominating me! That was very kind of you (especially when burdened with flu)! Your ‘F” is definitely true (in that you’re funny, not just to yourself), “V” cracked me up, and “X” intrigues me. I will definitely consider accepting the Quintet (God, I hope that doesn’t make me sound like a prig) I just always like to do research before I commit to anything (Look before you leap: life lesson learned! Several times!) 🙂

      Like

      • Of course, that is a cautious and wise choice 🙂 It was tough having to come up with word to describe myself. I would have put more thought into it only I wasn’t really feeling up to it. Thanks for your response!

        Like

I Love Your Feedback!

